Workshop on Fundamental Neutron Physics
at the
Spallation Neutron Source
(FNPSNS 2001)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Oak Ridge, TN, USA

September 20 and 21, 2001

First Announcement

The Spallation Neutron Source (SNS) under construction at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) will be the most intense pulsed source in the world. While the main thrust of the science program at the SNS will be materials science, the facility will provide an outstanding opportunity for fundamental research in nuclear and particle physics using cold neutrons. Recently, the Scientific Advisory Committee of the SNS responded favorably to a letter of intent requesting a dedicated beamline for "Fundamental Neutron Physics." In addition, during the recent DOE Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) long-range plan study, the use of cold neutrons at the SNS was identified as one of the important new nuclear physics initiatives and we have been encouraged to pursue the preparation of a proposal for the funding of this activity.

A Workshop will be held at ORNL on September 20 and 21, 2001, for the purpose of providing community input to the preparation of a proposal to DOE requesting funding for dedicated facilities at the SNS. The fundamental neutron physics opportunities have been considered in depth at the workshop on "Fundamental Physics with Pulsed Beams" held in North Carolina June 1-3, 2000. At the current workshop, we will consider more specifically which experiments are best suited to be performed at the SNS in its first few years of operation. In addition to these physics considerations, an important aspect of the Workshop will be to define the functional requirements of the beamline and to provide related technical information that will be required for the proposal.

A second purpose of the Workshop will be to initiate activities leading to the establishment of a fundamental neutron physics "Instrument Development Team" (IDT). IDTs provide the mechanism at the SNS by which beamlines that are not funded by the SNS project are built and operated, and the IDTs also provide the organizational structure for the construction and operation of such beamlines.

The Organizing Committee of the Workshop consists of Chris Gould (North Carolina State University), Geoff Greene (Chair, LANL), Paul Koehler (ORNL), Frank Plasil (ORNL) and Mike Snow (Indiana University). Attendance at the Workshop is open to all and it is our hope to involve all researchers who are interested in participating in the design and construction of the beamline as well as all those who are interested in carrying out experiments when the beamline is complete.

If you are interested in participating in this workshop, please complete the form below and return it via e-mail to . Please circulate this invitation to your colleagues.