home printable Archive hribf Physics Contact

7. Physics Staff Members Became APS, IOP Fellows

Three members of the Physics Division have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society (APS), and another two were elected fellows of the Institute of Physics (IOP) in London, UK.

The three APS fellows are David J. Dean, Anthony Mezzacappa and Predrag S. Krstic. Election to fellowship in the APS is limited to no more than one half of one percent of the annual APS membership and is in recognition of outstanding contributions to physics.

Glenn Young and Witold Nazarewicz have been elected fellows of the Institute of Physics.

The APS recognized Dean for his important contributions to understanding of quantum many-body systems and for applications of computational quantum mechanics to the structure of atomic nuclei.

Mezzacappa was cited by the APS for his pioneering work toward identifying the explosion mechanism of core collapse supernovae and his leadership in the development of U.S. computational science.

The society recognized Krstic for his important and diverse contributions to atomic theory, in particular, to the theory of non-adiabatic heavy-particle collisions and of relativistic effects in ultra-strong laser-atom interaction.

The Institute of Physics elected Young, who directs the Physics Division at ORNL, for his experimental research that focuses on states of nuclear matter at very high energy density.

Nazarewicz, whose nuclear theory research focuses on the description of nuclei far from stability, is scientific director of the Holifield Radioactive Ion Beam Facility as well as a professor at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.

Home printable Archive hribf Physics ornl contact