ORNL Physics Division
Managed by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy
Search     Go!
Accelerator Systems

• The Accelerator Systems Group is responsible for stewardship of the particle accelerators, ion beam production systems, and test facilities most recently associated with the Holifield Radioactive Ion Beam facility (HRIBF)
• Maintain accelerator and beam production capabilities
• Develop plans for alternative missions for the facility
• Operate the accelerators in a safe, cost-effective manner for customers on a full cost recovery basis

Particle Accelerators
• Oak Ridge Isochronous Cyclotron (ORIC)
• 25 MV Tandem Electrostatic Accelerator

Ion Beam Production Systems
• Injector for Stable Ion Species (ISIS)
• Injectors for Radioactive Ion Species (IRIS1 and IRIS2)

Test Facilities
• Ion Source Test Facilities (ISTF1 and ISTF2, off-line)
• On-Line Test Facility (OLTF, used with low-power Tandem beams)
• High Power Target Laboratory (HPTL, used with high-power ORIC beams)

• B. Alan Tatum (Group Leader)
• Ray Juras (Electrical Engineer)
• Martha Meigs (Electrical Engineer)
• Darryl Dowling (Mechanical Engineer)
• John Sinclair (Software Engineer)
• Tony Mendez (Accelerator Physicist)
• Gerald Mills (Ion Source Technician)
• Matt Rucker (Accelerator Operator/Technician)
• Jay Pruitt (Accelerator Operator/Technician)
• Andrew Barclay (Accelerator Operator/Technician)
• Jessica Rose (Administrative Assistant)